December 13, 2010

Chetreo - "A Year of Change"

After months of promising demos, Chetreo's brand new EP "A Year of Change" is finally here. What you'll hear in this five-track release is a unique musical style centered on autotuned vocals and non-conventional GameBoy pop. It's also available completely free of charge, which makes it all the more worth picking up. Noteworthy tracks include the Zelda-inspired "The Boy Without a Fairy" and melancholy "All the Things We Did".

Download or stream the EP for free here:

December 8, 2010

4mat - "Starfields EP"

In advance of his upcoming sophomore chip album "Surrender", 4mat offers the new "Starfields EP", a three-track teaser release with two "live" recordings and one track from the new album.

Stream/download for free here:

December 2, 2010

Equinoxe - Evolution (8-Bit Girl)

Equinoxe's "Evolution (8-Bit Girl)" is an eight-track collection of what I'd like to call "easy-listening chip music". From the epic break-down beats of "1984" to the unique danceability of the cleverly-titled "His Name Was SID", this is truly not the kind of chiptune album you'll hear every day. Crafted with a variety of machines including the Commodore 64, Amiga and the good old-fashioned Nintendo NES, "Evolution" is an interesting, if not outstanding, departure from stereotypical GameBoy tunes. In fact, I didn't even see that particular handheld listed out of the many synthesizers that were used.

Below is an embedded preview of three tracks, including a remix of Rob Hubbard's C64 classic "Sanxion". You can download the full release here for 3.50£:
Evolution (8Bit Girl) Album | Full songs by equinoxe_uk